2019 McGuffey Award Recipients

The CASB McGuffey Award honors unique board members who bring committed and passionate service to their board work. Every district has the opportunity to submit one board member each year. Honorees are recognized at CASB’s Fall Regional Meetings and featured on our website, through social media and in the 78th Annual Convention program. It takes just a small amount of your time for a worthy recognition.

2019 McGuffey Awardees

Region 1

Kyle Dorrenbacher, Akron R-1
Amy Ison, Otis R3
Larry Weyerman, Idalia RJ-3


Region 7

Dr. Jo Ann Baxter, Moffat County RE-1
Margie Huron, Steamboat Springs RE-2

Region 2

Jim Doak, Edison 54JT
Diane Moler, Bennett 29J


Region 8

Katy Davis, Platte Canyon #1

Region 3

Stephanie Malone, McClave RE-2
Paul Montera, Trinidad #1


Region 9

Kip Canty, Sanford School District 6J
Yuridia Cendejas, Center Consolidated School District
Arlan Van Ry, Alamosa RE-11J

Region 4

Laura Case, Estes Park R-3
Julie Chesnut, Weld County District RE-7
Tim Croissant, Eaton RE-2
Bridgette Holcomb, Weld County RE-1
Jane Johnson,Weld County District RE-7
Robert Smith, St. Vrain Valley RE-1J


Region 10

Thomas Parrish, Mesa County Valley 51

Region 5

Stephen Donnell, Mapleton Public Schools
Jim Stephens, Littleton Public Schools
Roberta Thimmig, School District 27J
Larry Dean "Dino" Valente, Westminster Public Schools
Jenn Venerable, School District 27J


Region 11

Tara Hardy, Hinsdale County RE-1
Gayle Johnson, Montrose County RE-1J
Jill Jurca, Delta County 50J
Nicole Skoloda, Ouray R-1
Len Spina, West End Public Schools RE-2


Region 6

Nora Brown, Colorado Springs D-11
Bart Hanks, Peyton 23-JT
Tracey Johnson, Academy District 20
Lori Kimball, Fountain-Fort Carson 8
Larry Oddo, Cañon City Schools


Region 12

Carol Blatnick, Bayfield 10 Jt-R
Greg Schick, Archuleta #50 JT

Submission deadline is two weeks prior to your regional meeting. Your board president should facilitate the submission from your district. One submission per district.

Do you have a special board member who ...

  • is or was an active board member for the past year
  • has served above and beyond the call of duty
  • has demonstrated such service that you want to recognize him/her in a special way

It could be that member who has ...

  • served your community for many years
  • accomplished a major milestone
  • demonstrated significant community service
  • demonstrated a focus for all children in the district, including a focus on student achievement
  • worked well with fellow board members
  • pursued self-improvement and growth in boardmanship
  • worked tirelessly as an advocate for the district and its students

First published in 1836, the McGuffey Readers were a series of seven books with stories and poems that taught reading and grammar to students as well as help them develop good character qualities. It was one of the most widely used and influential textbooks of its time in transferring knowledge and the virtues required to fulfill the responsibilities of citizenship in a free society.

Questions? Please contact Connie Summers.