Colorado Association of School Boards

Colorado Association of School Boards

Legislative Priorities & Process

Our members play a critical role in advocacy and helping determine CASB’s legislative platform and priorities. Each summer, we issue a Call for Resolutions request to every member school board as an opportunity to provide input on public education issues for the next legislative session. CASB compiles the proposed resolutions, prepares research data and distributes the information to the Legislative Resolutions Committee below, which reviews resolutions and makes recommendations to the CASB Delegate Assembly. Additionally, the committee reviews legislative proposals, discusses issues and advises CASB staff of the issues school board members would like brought to the attention of the General Assembly.

Legislative Resolutions Committee

The CASB Legislative/Resolutions Committee reviews resolutions presented by CASB members and develops recommendations to be considered at CASB's Annual Delegate Assembly. It also meets during the legislative session for a briefing on legislative issues and to determine CASB's position on individual pieces of legislation. The committee is made up of at least one school board member from each CASB region. The committee is appointed by the CASB President by January 15th of each year.

If you are interested in serving on the Legislative/Resolutions Committee, contact Matt Cook, CASB director of public policy & advocacy.
CASB Region Last Name First Name District/Organization Representation Email
01 Herrick Christi Liberty J-4 Committee Member
02 Diller John Agate 300 Committee Chair
03 Curley J. Scott McClave RE-2 Committee Member
03 Dorenkamp Regina "Jo" Granada RE-1 Committee Member
04 Howard Pam Thompson R2-J Committee Member
04 Lammers Debbie St. Vrain Valley RE-1J Committee Member
04 Lidiak Doug Weld County 6 Committee Member
05 Johnson Mike Denver Public Schools Committee Member
05 McCoy Ryan Adams County 50 Committee Member
05 Piotraschke Greg School District 27J Committee Member
05 Sampson John Strasburg 31J Committee Member
05 Warren-Gully Carrie Littleton Public Schools Committee Member
06 Huber Beth Woodland Park Re-2 Committee Member
06 Johnson Tracey Academy 20 Committee Member
06 Lee Montgomery "Monty" Custer County C-1 Committee Member
06 Milner Patricia Pueblo City Schools Committee Member
06 Sudar Jaye Huerfano Re-1 Committee Member
07 Baxter Jo Ann Moffat County RE-1 Committee Member
07 McGinley Mike East Grand School District Committee Member
08 Kirchner Tessa Eagle County Schools Committee Member
09 Van Ry Arlan Alamosa Re-11J Committee Member
10 Hamilton Matthew Roaring Fork RE-1 Committee Member
11 Reich Paul Telluride Committee Member
11 Virden Phil Hinsdale County RE-1 Committee Member
12 Hillyer Daniele Bayfield 10 Jt-R Committee Member
AC DeHererra Jerome Denver Public Schools Council of Sch. Board Attorneys
AC Gebhardt Kathleen Boulder Valley School District Council of Sch. Board Attorneys
AC Olson David CO Sch. Dist. Self Insurance Pool Council of Sch. Board Attorneys
AC Reester Adele Lyons Gaddis Kahn Hall et. al. Council of Sch. Board Attorneys
AC Wehman Toni Caplan and Earnest LLC Council of Sch. Board Attorneys
CASB Sullivan Kathleen CASB CASB Advocacy Team
CASB Urschel Jane CASB CASB Advocacy Team
Ex-Officio McCall Dale Colorado BOCES Association Friends of Leg Res Committee
Ex-Officio Murphy Michelle Colorado Rural Schools Alliance Ex-Officio
Ex-Officio Shepherd Macklin JulieMarie Aurora Public Schools Committee Member
FRN Chair Van Matre Linda Academy 20 Ex-Officio