Legislative Priorities & Process

  • Our members play a critical role in advocacy and helping determine CASB’s legislative platform and priorities. Each summer, we issue a Call for Resolutions request to every member school board as an opportunity to provide input on public education issues for the next legislative session. CASB compiles the proposed resolutions, prepares research data and distributes the information to the Legislative Resolutions Committee below, which reviews resolutions and makes recommendations to the CASB Delegate Assembly. Additionally, the committee reviews legislative proposals, discusses issues and advises CASB staff of the issues school board members would like brought to the attention of the General Assembly.


     

    Legislative Resolutions Committee

    The CASB Legislative/Resolutions Committee reviews resolutions presented by CASB members and develops recommendations to be considered at CASB's Annual Delegate Assembly. It also meets during the legislative session for a briefing on legislative issues and to determine CASB's position on individual pieces of legislation. The committee is made up of at least one school board member from each CASB region. The committee is appointed by the CASB President by January 15th of each year.

    If you are interested in serving on the Legislative Resolutions Committee, contact Matt Cook, CASB director of public policy & advocacy.

CASB Region Last Name First Name District/Organization Representation Email
01 Kleve Jon Holyoke Re-1J Committee Member jon.kleve@gmail.com
02 Mitchell Clint Calhan RJ1 Committee Member clint.mitchell@calhanschool.org
03 Lundquist Sandra Rocky Ford R2 Committee Member lundquist76@yahoo.com
04 Howard Pam Thompson R2-J Committee Member pam.howard@thompsonschools.org
04 Lidiak Doug Weld County 6 Committee Chair dlidiak@greeleyschools.org
04 Lieber Jennifer Weld RE-4 Committee Member jennifer.lieber@weldre4.org
05 Armstrong-Romero Kyla Aurora Public Schools Committee Member karmstrong-romero@aps.k12.co.us
05 McCoy Ryan Westminster Public Schools Committee Member rmccoy@westminsterpublicschools.org
05 Mitchell Laura Adams 12 Five Star Schools Committee Member laura.mitchell@adams12.org
05 Perez Kelly Littleton Public Schools Committee Member kellyperezboe@lps.k12.co.us
06 Lee Montgomery "Monty" Custer County C-1 Committee Member monty.lee@ccbobcats.net
06 Mellow Susan Cheyenne Mountain 12 Committee Member susan@mellownet.com
06 Sudar Jaye Huerfano Re-1 Committee Member jsudar@huerfano.k12.co.us
07 Baxter Jo Ann Moffat County RE-1 Committee Member joann.baxter@moffatsd.org
07 McGinley Mike East Grand School District Committee Member mike.mcginley@egsd.org
08 Kirchner Tessa Eagle County Schools Committee Member tessa.kirchner@eagleschools.net
08 Webster Lisa Summit School District Committee Member lisa.webster@summitk12.org
09 Van Ry Arlan Alamosa Re-11J Committee Member rangerarlan@gmail.com
10
11 Jurca Jill Delta County 50J Committee Member jill.jurca@deltaschools.com
11 Taplin Tim Ridgway R-2 Committee Member ttaplin@ridgway.k12.co.us
12 Chapman Yvonne Ignacio 11-JT Committee Member ychapman@ignacioschools.org
AC Dude Cindy Anderson, Dude & Lebel P.C. Council of Sch. Board Attorneys cdude@adllaw.com
AC Esser Chris Jeffco Public Schools Council of Sch. Board Attorneys christopher.esser@jeffco.k12.co.us
AC Reester Adele Lyons, Gaddis, Kahn, Hall, Jeffers, Dworak & Grant P.C. Council of Sch. Board Attorneys areester@lyonsgaddis.com
AC Wehman Toni Denver Public Schools Council of Sch. Board Attorneys toni_wehman@dpsk12.org
CASB Cook Matt CASB CASB Advocacy Team mcook@casb.org
Ex-Officio Fisher Karen Cherry Creek Schools FRN Chair kfisher12@cherrycreekschools.org
Ex-Officio Gebhardt Kathleen Boulder Valley School District CASB BOD President kathy.gebhardt@bvsd.org
Ex-Officio McCall Dale Colorado BOCES Association Friends of Leg Res Committee dale.mccall46@gmail.com
Ex-Officio Murphy Michelle Colorado Rural Schools Alliance Ex-Officio mmurphy@coruralalliance.org