Legislative Priorities & Process

  • Our members play a critical role in advocacy and helping determine CASB’s legislative platform and priorities. Each summer, we issue a Call for Resolutions request to every member school board as an opportunity to provide input on public education issues for the next legislative session. CASB compiles the proposed resolutions, prepares research data and distributes the information to the Legislative Resolutions Committee below, which reviews resolutions and makes recommendations to the CASB Delegate Assembly. Additionally, the committee reviews legislative proposals, discusses issues and advises CASB staff of the issues school board members would like brought to the attention of the General Assembly.



    Legislative Resolutions Committee


    The CASB Legislative/Resolutions Committee reviews resolutions presented by CASB members and develops recommendations to be considered at CASB's Annual Delegate Assembly. It also meets during the legislative session for a briefing on legislative issues and to determine CASB's position on individual pieces of legislation. The committee is made up of at least one school board member from each CASB region. The committee is appointed by the CASB President by January 15th of each year.

    If you are interested in serving on the Legislative/Resolutions Committee, contact Matt Cook, CASB director of public policy & advocacy.
CASB Region Last Name First Name District/Organization Representation Email
01 Herrick Christi Liberty J-4 Committee Member christi@plainstel.com
02 Diller John Agate 300 Committee Chair jddiller@amtca.net
03 Curley J. Scott McClave RE-2 Committee Member scottcurley@hotmail.com
03 Dorenkamp Regina "Jo" Granada RE-1 Committee Member ctyadmin@prowerscounty.net
04 Howard Pam Thompson R2-J Committee Member pam.howard@thompsonschools.org
04 Lammers Debbie St. Vrain Valley RE-1J Committee Member lammers_debbie@svvsd.org
04 Lidiak Doug Weld County 6 Committee Member dlidiak@greeleyschools.org
05 Johnson Mike Denver Public Schools Committee Member mike.johnson@kutakrock.com
05 McCoy Ryan Adams County 50 Committee Member rmccoy@adams50.org
05 Piotraschke Greg School District 27J Committee Member gpiotraschke@sd27j.org
05 Sampson John Strasburg 31J Committee Member jnsampson51@comcast.net
05 Warren-Gully Carrie Littleton Public Schools Committee Member carriewarrengullyboe@lps.k12.co.us
06 Huber Beth Woodland Park Re-2 Committee Member eodbiker@gmail.com
06 Johnson Tracey Academy 20 Committee Member tracey.johnson@asd20.org
06 Lee Montgomery "Monty" Custer County C-1 Committee Member monty.lee@ccbobcats.net
06 Milner Patricia Pueblo City Schools Committee Member patricia.milner@pueblocityschools.us
06 Sudar Jaye Huerfano Re-1 Committee Member jsudar@huerfano.k12.co.us
07 Baxter Jo Ann Moffat County RE-1 Committee Member jabaxter6140@yahoo.com
07 McGinley Mike East Grand School District Committee Member mike.mcginley@egsd.org
08 Kirchner Tessa Eagle County Schools Committee Member tessa.kirchner@eagleschools.net
09 Van Ry Arlan Alamosa Re-11J Committee Member rangerarlan@gmail.com
10 Hamilton Matthew Roaring Fork RE-1 Committee Member mhamilton@aspensnowmass.com
11 Reich Paul Telluride Committee Member preich@telluride.k12.co.us
11 Virden Phil Hinsdale County RE-1 Committee Member starmanlakecity@msn.com
12 Hillyer Daniele Bayfield 10 Jt-R Committee Member dhillyer@bayfield.k12.co.us
AC DeHererra Jerome Denver Public Schools Council of Sch. Board Attorneys jerome_deherrera@dpsk12.org
AC Gebhardt Kathleen Boulder Valley School District Council of Sch. Board Attorneys kathy.gebhardt@bvsd.org
AC Olson David CO Sch. Dist. Self Insurance Pool Council of Sch. Board Attorneys david@csdsip.net
AC Reester Adele Lyons Gaddis Kahn Hall et. al. Council of Sch. Board Attorneys areester@lgkhlaw.com
AC Wehman Toni Caplan and Earnest LLC Council of Sch. Board Attorneys twehman@celaw.com
CASB Urschel Jane CASB CASB Advocacy Team jurschel@casb.org
Ex-Officio McCall Dale Colorado BOCES Association Friends of Leg Res Committee dale.mccall46@gmail.com
Ex-Officio Murphy Michelle Colorado Rural Schools Alliance Ex-Officio mmurphy@coruralalliance.org
Ex-Officio Shepherd Macklin JulieMarie Aurora Public Schools Committee Member jshepherd@aps.k12.co.us
FRN Chair Van Matre Linda Academy 20 Ex-Officio linda.vanmatre@asd20.org