Colorado Association of School Boards

Colorado Association of School Boards

Federal Level Advocacy


At the federal level, CASB works with a Federal Relations Network (FRN)– school board members and superintendents from across the state – to present local school district priorities to Colorado’s congressional representatives.

The annual Federal Quick Reference Guide explains CASB’s position on hot-button issues such as the Elementary and Secondary Education Act, local control and unfunded mandates. The document is developed each year in January of each year by the FRN.

The National School Board Association also works to advocate on behalf of school board members. More information about that organization’s efforts is on its Advocacy and Legislation page.

Federal Relations Network Committee

The Colorado Federal Relations Network (FRN) reviews federal legislation and advocates the views of Colorado school boards to Congress. It is composed of two school board member from each of Colorado's Congressional districts. The FRN meets quarterly. If you are interested in serving on the FRN, please contact Matt Cook.


Linda Van Matre
Academy 20
(Congressional Dist. 5)

Congressional District 1

Appointment pending

Congressional District 2

Shelly Benford
Boulder Valley School District

David Trask 
Poudre R-1

Congressional District 3

Anne Guettler
Garfield Re-2

Phillip Virden
Hinsdale County RE-1

Congressional District 4

Doug Lidiak  (2016 Leg. Res. Chair)
Weld County 6

Deb Spenceley
Elizabeth C-1

Congressional District 5

Nora Brown
Colorado Springs D-11

Linda Van Matre
Academy 20

Congressional District 6

Carrie Warren-Gully
Littleton Public Schools

Cathy Wildman
Aurora Public Schools


Congressional District 7

Kathy Plomer
Adams 12 Five Star Schools

 Ron Mitchell
Jefferson County Schools


Ken DeLay
CASB, Executive Director

Jane Urschel
CASB, Deputy Executive Director

Kathleen Sullivan
CASB, Chief Counsel

Matt Cook

CASB, Director of Public Policy & Advocacy

Doug Lidiak
Legislative Resolutions Committee Chair
Weld County 6

Dale McCall
Colorado BOCES Association

Michelle Murphy
Colorado Rural Schools Alliance

Council of School Board Attorneys

Pat Richardson
Academy 20