Federal Level Advocacy

  • Overview

    At the federal level, CASB works with a Federal Relations Network (FRN) – school board members and superintendents from across the state – to present local school district priorities to Colorado’s congressional representatives.

    The annual Federal Quick Reference Guide explains CASB’s position on hot-button issues such as the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA), federal funding for education and student data privacy. The document is developed in January of each year by the FRN.

    The National School Board Association also works to advocate on behalf of school board members. More information about the NSBA's efforts is located on its Advocacy and Legislation page.



    Federal Relations Network Committee

     
    The Colorado Federal Relations Network (FRN) reviews federal legislation and advocates the views of Colorado school boards to Congress. It is composed of two school board members from each of Colorado's Congressional districts. The FRN meets quarterly. If you are interested in serving on the FRN, please contact Matt Cook.
Congressional District Last Name First Name District/Organization Representation Email
01 Daigle Sally Sheridan School District Committee Member sallydaigle411@gmail.com
02
03 Guettler Anne Garfield Re-2 Committee Chair aguettler@garfieldre2.net
03 Pitton Paul Mesa County Valley School District 51 Committee Member paul.pitton@d51schools.org
04 Sarchet Nancy Weld County RE-1 Committee Member sarchetn@skybeam.com
04 Gustafson Debra Weld RE-3J Committee Member debgustafson@re3j.com
05 Brown Nora Colorado Springs District 11 Committee Member nora.brown@d11.org
05 Johnson Tracey Academy District 20 Committee Member tracey.johnson@asd20.org
06 Fisher Karen Cherry Creek Schools Committee Member kfisher12@cherrycreekschools.org
06 Piotraschke Greg School District 27J Committee Member gpiotraschke@sd27j.net
07 Mitchell Ron Jefferson County Public Schools Committee Member ron.mitchell@jeffco.k12.co.us
07 Plomer Kathy Adams 12 Five Star Schools Committee Member kathy.d.plomer@adams12.org