Colorado Association of School Boards

Colorado Association of School Boards

Federal Level Advocacy

Overview


At the federal level, CASB works with a Federal Relations Network (FRN)– school board members and superintendents from across the state – to present local school district priorities to Colorado’s congressional representatives.

The annual Federal Quick Reference Guide explains CASB’s position on hot-button issues such as the Elementary and Secondary Education Act, local control and unfunded mandates. The document is developed each year in January of each year by the FRN.

The National School Board Association also works to advocate on behalf of school board members. More information about that organization’s efforts is on its Advocacy and Legislation page.




Federal Relations Network Committee


The Colorado Federal Relations Network (FRN) reviews federal legislation and advocates the views of Colorado school boards to Congress. It is composed of two school board member from each of Colorado's Congressional districts. The FRN meets quarterly. If you are interested in serving on the FRN, please contact Matt Cook.
 
 

Chair

 
Linda Van Matre
Academy 20
(Congressional Dist. 5)
linda.vanmatre@asd20.org



Congressional District 1

Appointment pending



Congressional District 2

Shelly Benford
Boulder Valley School District
shelly.benford@bvsd.org


David Trask 
Poudre R-1
 



Congressional District 3

Anne Guettler
Garfield Re-2
aguettler@garfieldre2.org

Phillip Virden
Hinsdale County RE-1
starmanlakecity@msn.com




Congressional District 4

Doug Lidiak  (2016 Leg. Res. Chair)
Weld County 6
dlidiak@greeleyschools.org


Deb Spenceley
Elizabeth C-1
dspenceley@esdk12.org



Congressional District 5

Nora Brown
Colorado Springs D-11
nora.brown@d11.org

Linda Van Matre
Academy 20
linda.vanmatre@asd20.org




Congressional District 6

Carrie Warren-Gully
Littleton Public Schools
carriewarrengullyboe@lps.k12.co.us

Cathy Wildman
Aurora Public Schools
cwildman@aps.k12.co.us


 

Congressional District 7

Kathy Plomer
Adams 12 Five Star Schools
kathy.d.plomer@adams12.org

 Ron Mitchell
Jefferson County Schools
romitche@jeffco.k12.co.us




Ex-Officio

 
Ken DeLay
CASB, Executive Director
kdelay@casb.org


Jane Urschel
CASB, Deputy Executive Director
jurschel@casb.org


Kathleen Sullivan
CASB, Chief Counsel
ksullivan@casb.org


Matt Cook

CASB, Director of Public Policy & Advocacy
mcook@casb.org


Doug Lidiak
Legislative Resolutions Committee Chair
Weld County 6
dlidiak@greeleyschools.org


Dale McCall
Colorado BOCES Association
dale.mccall46@gmail.com

 
Michelle Murphy
Colorado Rural Schools Alliance



Council of School Board Attorneys

Pat Richardson
Academy 20
patricia.richardson@asd20.org


 
CLOSE