Colorado Association of School Boards

Member Access

Newsletter Signup

Click here to join the CASB newsletter

McGuffey Award

The CASB McGuffey Award is designed to honor a unique board member from your district who brings committed and passionate service to his/her board work. Honorees will be recognized at CASB’s Fall Regional Meetings and featured on our website, Facebook page and 73rd Annual Convention program. It takes just a small amount of your time for a worthy recognition.

2013 McGuffey Awardees

Region 1
Don Dillehay, Brush RE 2(J)
Patrick "Bryant" McCall, Otis R-3
Jeffrey Tharp, Holyoke Re-1J
Royal "Woody" Woods, Akron R-1

Region 2
Donald Gabehart, Kiowa C-2
June Guy, Hi-Plains R-23
Craig Hamacher, Big Sandy 100J
Amy Martel, Stratton R-4

Region 3
Gary Collins, Swink #33
Ricke Feemster, Kim R-88

Region 4
Sharon Olson, Thompson R2-J

Region 5
Bob Colwell, Littleton Public Schools
Mary Nichols, Littleton Public Schools
Jim O'Brien, Cherry Creek Schools
Gene Turnbull, Englewood Schools
Region 6
Jeffery Ferguson, Lewis-Palmer #38
Stephanie Garcia, Pueblo City Schools
Doug Lundberg, Academy 20

Region 7
Tim Thomson, West Grand 1-JT

Region 8
Robin Ziperman, Buena Vista R-31

Region 9
Sage Godfrey, Moffat Consolidated #2
Ronda Lobato, Centennial R-1
Mary Neamon, Monte Vista School District
Karla Van Treese, Sargent RE-33J

Region 10
Leslie Kiesler, Mesa County Valley 51
Kay Orton, Plateau Valley 50

Region 12
Robert Jefferson, Ignacio 11-JT
Chris Kloster, Mancos Re-6

Submission deadline is Friday, Aug. 16. Click here to nominate a board member. Your board president will facilitate the submission from your district. One submission per district please.

Do you have a special board member who ...

  • is or was an active board member for the past year
  • has served above and beyond the call of duty
  • has demonstrated such service that you want to recognize him/her in a special way

It could be that member who has ...

  • served your community for many years
  • accomplished a major milestone
  • demonstrated significant community service
  • demonstrated a focus for all children in the district, including a focus on student achievement
  • worked well with fellow board members
  • pursued self-improvement and growth in boardmanship
  • worked tirelessly as an advocate for the district and its students

First published in 1836, the McGuffey Readers rode the wave of western expansion. After the Civil War they were standard schoolbooks in 37 states. The McGuffey Readers were a series of seven books with stories and poems that not only taught kids reading and grammar, but also helped them develop good qualities. It was one of the most widely used and influential textbooks of its time in transferring not only knowledge, but also certain virtues required to fulfill the responsibilities of citizenship in a free society.

Click here to submit your unique leader for CASB's 2013 McGuffey Award.

Any questions, please contact Nancy Weiss: